Nine.

Well, I haven’t posted anything in a while so I thought I could do a personal post tonight (since I always seem to remember these things at night). For about ten years now, I’ve been working with kids and for probably eleven years, I’ve been thinking of names for my own future children. Most people will call me crazy (especially since I’m only nineteen) but I’ve always thought having a plan, albeit a flexible, imperfect one, is a good idea.

Anyway, to get to the point – although I’m not entirely sure there is too much of a point to make here – I’ve always fantasized about having a big family with five or six kids all of whom would have Biblical names of Hebrew origin. That’s a pretty tough call to make for different reasons.

There are very few pretty girls names that fit my criteria. I even have an extra name which is of Persian origin rather than Hebrew. But with boys, the opposite is true. I have so many beautiful boys’ names but many of them don’t fit together. As it stands right now, I have a list of thirteen female names and twenty-two male names. As an added challenge I an attached to too many names to let them go, but since I don’t want more than seven kids I decided to give each child two middle names.

(This also means that if they don’t like their first name, they can choose another name to go by in everyday life.)

There are also rules to follow. I’m an avid YouTube watcher/follower/subscriber and one of my favorite YouTubers, AnastasiaRuby, devotes her channel to baby names. She outlined some rules for making middle names which I agree with for the most part. You can watch the video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4EsMmDrTQiw&feature=plcp but if you would rather not, here are the tips (because there can be no real hard-and-fast “rules” in baby naming):

(This is Stephanie’s Order by the way – not my order of importance/application)

1. Different Syllables. Many last names have two syllables so Miss Stephanie suggests having, for example, a three syllable first name and a one syllable middle name – or vice versa – making the syllable scheme: 3-1-2/1-3-2

This is a HUGE problem for me because so many favorite names have two syllables. That being said, I personally don’t think this is the most important rule because three of the combos I made had a first name and two middle names all with either two or three syllables, and they actually sound fine if not really nice.

As an added comment on the rule, I preferred the 3-1-2 combination because (and this might have been the specific name choices) something sounded  a bit off with the Cole Xavier Thompson example. (I like Elliott Cole much better)

2. No Run-Ins or A-As

This rule is a yes and no for me. It makes a lot of sense and it’s definitely a huge consideration but I’ve run into quite a few exceptions. The two no-no examples Stephanie gave were Connor Robert and Angelina Adele. Connor Robert doesn’t actually sound that bad. It’s not the greatest name, but if both names are special to the family or just the parents, I think it’s perfectly acceptable and definitely preferable to Robert Connor which, to me, sounds worse. (Stephanie also commented that these name don’t follow the syllable rule.)

Major run-ins are much worse though. I don’t want to reveal my names list yet but I have a lot of A sounds as well as some two or even three-letter combos that could have been repeated and they sounded bad. More on this when I apply the rules to my favorite names.

3. No Phrases/Two-Word Names

I agree with this rule but I also don’t have to worry about it because it doesn’t apply to me. The example Stephanie gave was Scarlett Raine (spellings may vary). Stephanie is totally right, if I heard that name I would think of red rain falling from the sky – perhaps even blood falling instead of rain. She also mentioned Liberty Opal which does kind of conjure up an image of some special opal (the precious stone) that is for reason associated with liberty… You wouldn’t name your child Liberty Statue.

Anyway, none of my names are words so this rule didn’t apply in my choice-making, but I do agree with it.

4. Consider the Initials

This is pretty important. If, like me, you are considering giving your child two middle names, this is especially important because you can accidentally make so many words out of four initials. I also read somewhere that kids with initials that spell a positive word are more successful – I doubt this is true but perhaps if your initials spelled W. I. N. or L. U. C. K. you would want to live up to them. It was probably just a coincidence.

I met a guy in university whose name was Wesley Ethan Solomon. Other rules aside, his initials spelled W. E. S. which is also a common nickname for Wesley so I thought that was pretty ingenious.

5. Same Ending Sounds

This is another HUGE problem for me because so many good names end with an A sounds or an N sound. The example Stephanie gave was Cara Aurora which truthfully doesn’t flow well but what do you do if your other top choices ALSO ended with an A sound (or in this case another RA sound)?

This rule I feel also has many exceptions though, so if you’re trying to name your baby, actually test out the name before just discarding it based on the rules.

It is at this point in the blog post, when I have over 900 words, that I wish I had images to break up the text. I don’t though. Sorry.

Now then, I suppose I should list the names I like…

In no particular order here are my favorite names, ladies first:

Naomi

Eve

Zipporah

Rachel

Elizabeth

Anna

Rebekah

Ruth

Hannah

Susannah

Abigail

Miriam

Esther

Boys:

Aaron

Asher

Benjamin

Kenan

Ethan

Reuben

Jonathan

Levi

Eli

Gideon

Gabriel

Isaac

David

Michael

Abraham

Seth

Joshua

Simon

Noah

Caleb

Adam

Malachi

I wrote out all the names on individual slips of paper and tried to piece them together, [somewhat] applying the rules as I went along. Without going into the full process of how I came up with them, this is my current list of name combinations:

Naomi Eve Elizabeth (Eve Elizabeth has that repeating letter but it doesn’t seem to run together)

Rebekah Rachel Anna (Rachel and Anna both have two syllables; Also Rebekah and Anna end in the A sound but maybe it’s forgivable because they’re not next to each other)

Zipporah Ruth Abigail

Aaron Seth Jonathan

Asher Reuben Michael (All two syllables; Asher ends with R, Reuben starts with R)

Benjamin Joshua Abraham (All three syllables)

David Kenan Levi (All two syllables – but this is almost like an extra name anyway since I don’t actually want seven children but if I had six, four boys and two girls is an acceptable, but not preferred, combination… not that gender is something controllable)

Some of the problems I ran into were things like Rachel Elizabeth because of the repeated EL or the even more egregious Reuben Benjamin which I can only imagine would result in the name BenBen. I also had many names which ended in N sounds, although there was some variation in terms of AN, EN, IN and ON.

At any rate, the biggest problem of all is that I don’t have a boyfriend, therefore no prospective husband and therefore no prospective last name for my future children. The name I’ve been using is a really tough one (especially for my chosen group of names) because it starts with an A, ends with an AN and has three syllables. But it’s unlikely I’ll end up marrying this guy anyway – and yes I know having a crush like this is very school-girl-aged behavior but I can’t help it.

So that’s probably my current list but I have other lists which I could also use and all of this is so theoretical anyway that it probably doesn’t even matter. (If you want, I could share those lists too – just let me know in the comments.)

Sometimes even I think I take things too seriously.

Leave a Reply

