Forty-Two. Driving.

Contrary to its title, this post is not about driving.

This time, driving, specifically my journey with driving this past month, is an example, a testimony.

And just in case you didn’t notice, I didn’t have to start out by apologizing for not writing ๐Ÿ˜›

Anyway, what do I mean by my journey with driving being a testimony?

 

I’ve touched on this before, and many people have heard my story but I really want to post this so I can come back to it anytime, and maybe I’ll be able to encourage someone else with it too because I think the principle is applicable in other things in life.

As most 16-year-olds do, I went to get my G1 pretty much as soon as possible. Many people go the day of their 16th birthday, I waited four days.

[For anyone who doesn’t know how Ontario Licensing works, we have a graduated system. At 16 you are allowed to take a written theory test and provided you don’t make too many mistakes you earn your G1. (There is a handbook you can study too if you want, but most things are pretty common sense.) With a G1, you can start learning to drive. You can take Driver’s Ed if you want, you can take lessons and you can actually get behind the wheel of a car provided you follow some general restrictions. The thing is, your license will expire in five years and it is generally accepted that you get your full G license within that time. With Driver’s Ed, you can take your road test after eight months, if not, one year. Then you get a G2. In another year you take another road test and you get your G. Each level has fewer restrictions than the one previous. For more information visit: Ontario Ministry of Transportation or “Get a G Driver’s License” (or else use Google).]

I did think about actually driving a few times but “practicing” with my dad in a parking lot confirmed that I was not ready to be in control of something expensive that could cause damage to people or property or else be damaged itself. A nervous driver is the worst driver. Instead I just kept my Driver’s license so I could easily prove my identity.

So here I am, soon turning 21 [for those not following, 16 + 5 =ย 21] and I’ve been enjoying my ID [Driver’s Licenses seem to be the most widely accepted pieces of ID for everything] but it’s about to expire! It was expensive and I hate wasting money [even though I didn’t pay for it, thanks Dad!] so it was time to learn to drive and get my next license so I don’t have to start all over again.

The problem was, I had been too scared to drive for the first four years and in my last one, where I no longer had a choice, I lived in Belgium.

Coming back to Canada, at the end of June, I only had July and half of August before my license would expire. I had to learn to drive well enough to pass the road test in a month! [We already knew we’d be going away for two weeks in the middle of August and my license would actually expire while we’re in the States.]

I procrastinated on calling an instructor, I tried desperately to avoid driving with my dad, I didn’t even want to talk about cars.

And in all this, I haven’t mentioned God yet…

See, that was my problem.

I was thinking about myself and my fears and I was crippled because I told myself I couldn’t do it. I filled my head with negativity. I stopped myself from the possibility of success.

But when I was “at the end of my rope” – in this case meaning, I had no more time to fail at driving – I turned to God and I prayed more than I can remember praying for a long time. I was practically in tears confessing my fears.

It worked.

I pray a general prayer every night anyway, so I included pleas to the Lord to help me with my driving and every time before I sat behind the wheel I prayed an extra, special prayer for protection, for peace, for communication, for perfect conditions and anything else I could think of.

Eventually I got more comfortable, I practiced more and I as I calmed down, my driving got better. Coming back from a drive, I would thank God for being there.

Yesterday, Friday August 8th, I passed my G1 exit test!

I’ll be honest, in the days leading up to the test I felt fine. I felt confident enough and I figured there would be no reason for me to fail. But seconds before my tester came out to talk to me, I sat in the car and I started crying. I hadn’t realized I was that nervous.

I had to pray.

Throughout the month I had to be reminded through God’s Word that He has not given my a spirit of fear, that I don’t need to be anxious for anything, that He is my loving Father, my Provider, my Protector, my Peace, my All.

Listen, God is so faithful and so completely awesome! We can and should go to Him with all of our requests, big or small, serious or silly. He already knows what we’re thinking, but laying down our burdens, our fears, our needs before Him and asking Him to fill us with His spirit and His blessings makes such a huge difference!

I’m different now than I was a month ago not because I have a G2 driver’s license, but because I traded my fear for God’s peace [that surpasses understanding], I traded my negativity and worries for God’s loving promises.

And I want to encourage you to do that too.

No matter what’s going on in your life, bring that to God! He listens, He loves and He blesses you so much more when you press into Him.

God Bless!!

PS, That ended up being a lot longer than I expected, but the idea of being able to come to God with any and all of our problems, while it isn’t novel, is so important and through this challenge [well, challenge for me anyway] was really impressed on me.

PPS, On Monday, we’re going to a cottage, so no Wifi. I can promise I won’t post anything ๐Ÿ˜› But I do have a post planned, so I will hopefully find time to write it and maybe it’ll be up on Friday? Aren’t you all just super lucky this month ๐Ÿ˜›

PPPS, Coffee with Rita has a Facebook page! One of the things on my “bucket list” is to have a following of strangers for this blog, because right now it’s mostly family and friends who read my posts, and while I appreciate every single one of them for their support, I would love it if this blog could spread outย beyond people who do actually know me. So following, liking, sharing, commenting, recommending, etc., are all really helpful ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks!

Leave a Reply

