Fifty-one. January 1, 2016: How do you spend your time?

Hello friends,

I haven’t forgotten about my little corner of the internet, I just haven’t been writing much lately.

But I want to get back into it.

I also want to dedicate more time to Bible study and personal growth.

I don’t want to call it a New Year’s resolution, but firsts of Januaries seem to be good times to start new healthy habits.

Devotional Books

These are some of the books I have that are supposed to help people develop daily habits of reading and applying God’s Word.

So I’m going to try it again.

But this time I’m working with my best friend 🙂

Anyway, so today we started with the women’s friendship devotional (the first book in the picture) and the quote they used is really lovely

Faith sees the invisible, believes the unbelievable, and receives the impossible. – Corrie ten Boom

The devotional thought they shared was about building faith and being in a relationship with Christ. They also mentioned the many women in the Bible who were a “cloud of witnesses who went before us.”

Besides this devotional, I recently got a smartphone and downloaded the YouVersion Bible app. They offered a daily Bible reading plan for a year, so I started that today as well, and shared my thoughts with my friend. The first chapter was Psalm 1 which is only 6 verses long, but verse 3 really struck a chord.

And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth fruit in his season; his leaf shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper. – Psalm 1:3 (KJV)

We’ve both read this passage before but this morning (afternoon) what stood out to us was that he would “bring forth fruit in his season” – as in, not ALL THE TIME.

This got us talking about being “too busy” and often adding more busy-ness into our lives just for the sake of appearing active. But in all our running around, we don’t devote time to reading and meditating on the Word. We’re always ready to do more fun stuff but when it comes time to do something vital to our spiritual health, we’re more loathe to do it… the world doesn’t reward it and excuses are easy to make up on the spot!

So we were really convicted that we need to learn to slow down sometimes and to read the Bible for the sake of reading His Word and connecting with our heavenly Father – not for show or to seem more spiritual, but because we genuinely want to grow in our faith and relationship with the Creator. There was so much more we discussed as well, but I’ll leave it at that.

So, while I can’t promise I’ll write every day, I do hope to share some short thoughts more often that will come from my daily readings, either from the devotional book, or from the Bible-in-a-year plan.

What will you strive to do in this new year?

Thanks for reading friends!

God bless you.

PS: This was such a short post compared to my previous ones! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

